In February, Discord announced “teen-by-default” settings and a controversial age-verification policy to change those settings. Backlash was swift, and users immediately tried to find alternative chat services. Eventually, Discord announced it would delay the implementation of its controversial policies to the second half of 2026. Well, here we sit with just a few months left in the year, and the day has come: Discord has begun rolling out its “global age assurance” plans.
In a new blog post titled “Safer for Teens, Same Discord for Adults,” Discord CTO and co-founder Stanislav Vishnevskiy outlined how the policies work, stressing multiple times that 90% of users won’t be asked to confirm their ages. Discord is automatically placing users into various age groups “using account signals, like how long your account has existed and the kinds of servers you’re part of. We use multiple account signals to determine age groups at an accuracy level matching what’s possible with biometrics. No single server determines your age group, and we don’t look at your messages, calls, or other content to decide which age group you’re in.”
You can check your group by looking at the “Account Status” page in your user settings. As Vishnevskiy notes, the new settings will be launched throughout this week, so you may not see anything new in your settings right away.
What each age group means
Depending on what age group Discord has sorted you into, the way you interact with the app might change. Nothing will change for adults, while teens will have some content restricted. Users in the “unconfirmed” group will also face restrictions on adult content until they confirm their age.
The age settings are meant to protect teen users, according to Discord. Here’s how using Discord will be different for those in the teen age group:
Who can reach you: Messages from non-friends go to your message requests inbox so you can review them first. Turning this off requires confirming you’re an adult. You’ll also get an alert before accepting a friend request from someone you don’t share mutual friends or a small server with. This won’t impact people you already talk to. It only changes how messages and requests from people you don’t know are handled.
Read Full Article At Source

