There are a couple of ways to go about it.
The Steam Deck is nothing short of a fantastic gaming handheld, but like any other computer, it can work perfectly today and suddenly start malfunctioning the next day. Most times a simple system restart gets the device back in working shape. Other times, it takes a not-so-simple factory reset to get things back in order.
If your Steam Deck has been plagued with performance issues, corrupted files or maybe an unbearable bug, a factory reset is usually the silver bullet and is also a great way to prepare the device for sale. But that bullet erases everything, both the good and the bad, including your beloved games if they’re installed on the Steam Deck itself. So before going ahead with the reset, back up your save files, controller layouts and anything else living outside your Steam Cloud’s reach. You can factory reset your Steam Deck from the Settings menu. If your unit no longer powers on normally, you can reset it from recovery mode instead.
How to factory reset your Steam Deck
You can trigger a factory reset using your console without needing a computer or USB drive. Simply:
-
Press the Steam button to open the main menu.
-
Select Settings.
-
Select System.
How to factory reset your Steam Deck from recovery mode
If your Steam Deck is having issues booting normally, you can use recovery mode to factory reset it.
-
First, make sure the device is completely powered off by pressing the power button for 10 seconds.
-
Hold the Power button and the “…” button.
-
Continue holding the “…” button once you hear the boot sound.
-
Do it correctly, and you’ll enter the SteamOS menu.
-
Scroll to “ERASE USER DATA FROM DECK.”
-
Use A to select.
Afterward, you’ll see lines of commands and your Steam Deck will proceed to erase all user data, including user settings, local games and save data. If you want to roll back your Steam Deck to a previous version, you can do it from the same SteamOS menu.
Your Steam Deck will restart into the previous version of SteamOS while retaining all your user data. Do note that the rollback only lasts until the next restart.
Read Full Article At Source


